# Graduate Studies Committee/Retention and Financial Aid Committee Report 2013-2014

**Members:** Keith Barton (Chair), Beth Berghoff, Ben Edmonds, Luise McCarty, Alex McCormick, Thu Suong Thi Nguyen, Terri Shockley, Susan Sloffer, Peg Sutton, Karen Wohlwend, and Katie Cierniak (student member)

Ex-Officio: Elizabeth Boling, Ghangis Carter, and Robin Hughes

Staff: Avital Deskalo

**Meetings:** Eight (8) meetings will be held during the 2013-2014 academic year. The 8<sup>th</sup> meeting will be held on April 29<sup>th</sup>.

# **Course Proposals**

- G699 new course request approved
- L631 new course request approved with minor changes
- L641 new course request approved with minor changes
- L651 new course request approved with minor changes
- L661 new course request approved with minor changes
- U559 course change request approved with minor changes
- Y500 course change request approved with minor changes
- P683 new course request approved with minor changes
- P652 new course request approved with minor changes
- N610 new course request approved with minor changes
- P515 course request approved with minor changes

#### **Academic Programs/Certificates**

Approved the Masters in Science in Elementary Education with a Focus on Technology and Masters in Science in Secondary Education with a Focus on Technology Online Programs

Approved the Certificate in Children's and Young Adult Literature with minor changes

Approved the Graduate Certificate in Adult Education with minor changes

Approved the Graduate Certificate in Literacy and Learning

Approved the Revised Masters of Science in Education in Instructional Systems Technology

Approved the Masters of Science in Education in Technology for Learning

Approved changes to the K12 Principal Leadership Track with minor changes

Approved Core Inquiry Courses Proposal with minor changes

Approved the Online Ed.D. in the LCLE Program with minor changes

Approved the Ed.S. Degree Name Change with minor changes

Approved Master's in Educational Leadership Strands with minor changes

Approved the Urban Education Advocacy and Leadership Certificate

### **New Policy or Change in Policy**

Approved change in transcript policy with minor changes; admissions would no longer require transcripts stemming from high school courses or semester-long study abroad programs and would require only degree-granting transcripts from students who are pursuing non-degree programs, with the exception of the non-degree programs using a GPA calculation to determine waiver of the non-degree programs using a GPA calculation to determine waiver of the GRE for admission.

## **Additional Items**

The committee voted on a procedural decision regarding department verification of course requests and proposals. Specifically, the committee requires department verification that the faculty members have approved course requests and proposals. They will be accepted through faculty meeting minutes, a memo from the chair verifying a vote, or an email attachment showing that the proposal was circulated to the faculty with a reasonable amount of time for responses and a notation that none were received.

## **Awards**

The Graduate Studies Committee/Retention and Financial Aid Committee is responsible for the distribution of the Beechler, Dissertation of the Year for the School of Education, and the Dean's Fellowship. Sub-committees of the GSC/RAFA committee were established to review and select the 2013-2014 recipients.

Beechler recipients: Avital Deskalo (CEP), Yi-Lu Kuo (LCLE), Jenna McWilliams (CEP), Jaehan Park (LCLE), Paulo Tan (C&I), Dean Vesperman (C&I), and Jae-Seok Yang (LCLE),

Dissertation of the Year recipient: At the time of this report the selection committee was deliberating on a recipient

Dean's Fellowship Award: Three Dean's Fellowship awards were accepted by students in CEP.

No Old Business remains on the agenda.

Respectfully submitted,

Keith Barton, Chair

April 18, 2013